WAS Artist of the Week…

Michael C Hughes: Photographer, Arizona

Parked in Habana Centro

Artist Statement: I am a native of the Sonoran desert with a great love for the dramatic landscape of Arizona.  Feeling compelled to expound upon that love, I harkened to photography, inspired by the work of Ansel Adams and Elliot Porter.  It was natural for me to take to a camera as my father and grandfather were photographers, passing on to me some instinctual passion for capturing images on film.

Whether sitting in a café or on a river raft, I see what’s around me as photographic images.  How I view the world is revealed by my photographs.  They are recordings of my questions and understandings, and an expression of my sheer delight of creating with light.

Crosses

For more of Michael’s work visit www.mchughesphoto.com/

Leave a Reply

