theStudio Artist of the Week…

Sean Flood, Painter, Boston

Artist Statement:

Painting for me, is ones ability to capture the essence of a subject’s energy through the application of media. When I view a painting I scrutinize the marks and line quality that acquiesce to form a finished piece. I specifically enjoy designing the structure of my paintings and I feel that my work reflects this. I feel that the most intriguing aspect of painting is the ability of a single line to possess an extraordinarily large amount of expressive qualities.

I appreciate active paintings and thus incorporate a high level of energy in my work; due to this fact my painting process is done at a fast pace. I believe that in my ability to paint quickly I can efficiently express the energetic look that I so desire and respect. The method in which I paint differs from subject to subject. I enjoy seeing variety in how paintings are executed. My work is representational with abstract qualities. I paint from both life and from photography; however painting from life is my passion. Live painting is liberating and I find that more variation tends to occur.

For more on Sean’s works visit him on the web.

Leave a Reply

