theStudio Artist of the Week…

 

Christine Soccio, Painter, New York

Artist Statement:  As an artist, I am constantly trying to escape my comfort zone. Where there is abundant color, I make it a point to utilize a minimal pallet. When I overuse traditional tools, I strive for a fresh, new approach. Where I am methodical, I force myself to embrace  the randomness in life. Because of this, I grown and forever explore the multitude of creative options before me.

In this body of work, I set out to experiment with various re-purposed resources while strengthening my connection to nature, the unseen world and the creative forces abundant in the universe and channel those energies into my work

By using non-traditional materials, it has allowed me to focus my energy in unexpected ways. The result is organic textures mixed with an intense yet calming energy that allows the viewer a sense of peace and contentment.

For more on Christine’s work visit her on the web.

Leave a Reply

