theStudio Artist of the Week…

 

Ieva Baklane, Painter, Canada

image

With our love of architecture and interests in form and color, it is only fitting that we are loving the urban, abstract landscapes of Ieva Baklane.

image

 

Artist statement: “I work in an abstract and realism style. The Abstract comes from the fact that I always wanted to be an architect, but never pursued this dream and it reflects the structured side of me. The Realism is equally natural for me-I received a very classical art education from the early age of twelve at Art School in Riga and later at the Latvian Academy of Art in Riga. Coming from the country where summers are short and often rainy I was always inspired by bright sunlight of southern countries-Italy, Spain, Mexico and states like California and Florida. I try to capture that bright light in my paintings. I have always been fascinated by surf and skateboard culture.”

image

image

image

For more on Baklane’s paintings visit her on the web.

Leave a Reply

